Sunday, July 30, 2006

Winner of the Dil Pickle Award 2006

Michael Tsonton, Chefs for Choice, wowed the judges at this year's Bughouse 2006 and walked away with the coveted Dil Pickle Award, a larger-than-life Dill Pickle. Tsonton is the Executive Chef of Copperblue restaurant and is co-founder of Chefs for Choice, a chapter of the Illinois Restaurant Association. For Chefs for Choice, foie gras is a consumer choice not a matter for legislation.

Rachel Goodstein, Meigs Action Coalition, was the runner-up with her talk titled "Planes and Parks - Bring Back Meigs Field."

Thank you to our judges - David Anderson, McCormick Tribune Freedom Museum; Ruth Lopez, TimeOut Chicago; and John Williams, WGN Radio 720.

Also, thank you to all our soapbox debaters! We look forward to a fun 2007. If you would like to get involved in planning Bughouse 2007, please contact Mary Janzen, manager of public programming at the Newberry Library, at (312) 255-3700 or

No comments: